top of page

Are you LinkedIn


This week I will be writing on the subject of LinkedIn and how I will use it to further my career. One of our guest speakers, Geralyn Mitchell, shared a lot of knowledge about LinkedIn and how we should be using it. I learned that I need to be active with LinkedIn because with more activity comes more availability. This is a valuable piece of knowledge to me because I haven't used my LinkedIn account since I signed up. Now that I know to be active I will start to do so. I also learned that I can share my own blogs and posts onto a news feed. This can allow more people to see my work and my recent activity. I will start to post about my upcoming work and other things that I am interested in. Throughout Geralyn's presentation, I was happy to be informed that I can get a free professional headshot at the career development center. This is important because I want people to take me seriously and know that I care about my work and my future. I need to get a headshot and complete my LinkedIn account as soon as possible so I can start using it to my advantage.

This is all relatable knowledge because if I use LinkedIn properly and actively, I might be able to find a lot of work in my field. I love shooting and editing videos and plan to continue to do so. When I graduate I am traveling to Asia for a long time and I can use LinkedIn on my travels to show people my work while I am traveling. This might also help me find small gigs if I want to be a freelance videographer or editor. After doing research I learned that I will have access to wifi throughout my travels. I might even be able to find some jobs while I am traveling. In order to do so, I should have my LinkedIn account set up all the way and I should be actively using it. Geralyn taught me that I can search jobs on LinkedIn. I can search specific job titles in specific areas. I will link my resume and portfolio to my LinkedIn account so people can see my previous work. I can't wait to see what I can do with LinkedIn and other outlets of opportunity. I look forward to being the best person I can be and striving to do what I love for the rest of my life.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page