top of page

Montana Documentary Prep


Lately I have been doing research on how I can make my trip to Montana in July the best it can be. I will be gone from July 23rd to August 13th. The adventure that I will be embarking on is a fly fishing trip in the Bob Marshall Wilderness. A couple fly fishing guides and I are hiking 25 miles into the wild Montana backcountry. I plan on documenting this trip into about a 20 minute film. With that being said, I will need to pack my camera equipment, which is probably going to be the heaviest part of my pack. I won't have access to electricity so I will have to bring multiple batteries. I have been doing research on battery packs that charge phones and camera batteries. They can be a bit heavy, but I will probably need one in order to be able to film the entire journey. I will also need to bring multiple lenses. Since I want to pack as light as possible, I am probably going to bring only 2 lenses. A zoom lens (NIKKOR 55-300mm) and the lens that came with my camera (NIKKOR 18-55mm.) Both of these lenses have vibration reduction which is especially important with the zoom lens. I want to be able to get awesome footage if I come across a bald eagle or a grizzly bear.

Fly fishing is my main passion in life. It is the reason why I have the drive to travel this world. I am happy that I have fallen in love with filming and editing because now I can incorporate multiple things that I love into one project. I will continue to do research while I am in Asia so my trip in Montana is the best it can be. I have also been put on the pro deal for multiple fly fishing companies so I will have discounts for different outdoor products. All in all I am very excited for the future and can't wait edit my adventure into a short film.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page